A "stand still" button to guard without going backward

Hi,

I’m new to Fantasy Strike, so I’m interested in everyone’s opinion about how you feel about this.

Since the game does not allow crouching, and the characters’s speed is high to compensate the lack of dashes, blocking often means going backward. It is really disturbing to see how far my character goes back each time I want to block. My main is Geiger, so when I break my charge by going forward I don’t want this effort to be ruined by trying to block a potential threat. Therefore, I wonder if a button that allows to stay put while blocking could help other characters, and be a good addition to the game. Let me know what you beautiful people think

2 Likes

If you can stand still and block, you can’t tell if someone is throw vulnerable (pressing something) or not (not pressing anything).

3 Likes

How about a different stance for when you are in that specific state ? Would that solve your objection ?

In any case, it is easy to release every button to perform a counter yomi, whether you are going backward or pressing the “stand still” button. So the situation is the same as always : It is impossible to guess if the attempt to throw will succeed.

I have two different problem with this, which are “there are already too many buttons” and “how do crossups work if you aren’t holding a direction to block?”

Buttons