How do I deal with Valerie?

Out of all the characters in Fantasy Strike, the only one I can’t seem to wrap my head around is Valerie. I don’t understand how to fight as her or against her! The only reason I beat her in Arcade as Rook and Grave is because of how good their C specials are, so when I tried Arcade as Setsuki I couldn’t get more than one or two rounds in two attempts at beating her.

I know that some people have said she’s sort of like Fei Long, but I’ve only played a single round of SF2 in an arcade I visited with a friend once (neither of us enjoyed it enough for a second round, so I played Donkey Kong instead). In other words, I have no experience with Fei Long either, and the only fighting games I’ve ever played at any length – Smash Bros. and Pokken – don’t have anything like this either. I pretty much understand the other characters even if I’m not that good with them, but it feels like nothing I do can stop her when I’m fighting against her.

Before anyone tries giving me advice, I will say that I’ve gotten reasonably good at blocking her attacks (except for when Rainbow Stroke decides it wants to crossup seemingly at random). Rather, I need an explanation of her basic game plan and how to do something other than block forever. Thanks in advance!

2 Likes

Sorry for the delay on this! I’d figured someone else might come answer your questions. ; )

Her game plan is built around getting close and then just overwhelming the opponent. Her BBB chain can cross to the other side with the third hit, which won’t combo but does have to be blocked in the other direction. She gets a degree of invincibility with the startup on her ground C, which you can use to bait out a desperate attempt at a counterattack and then keep up the pressure by hitting again. You can also cancel the end of her ground A into B or C to continue adding pressure, too.