Thoughts From a Noob

Right off, I’d like to make a couple things clear:

1. I have not yet played the game
  2. I am not good at fighting games

I ended up here because I heard Fantasy Strike was a lot easier than other fighting games. After reading around, it seems just as difficult. While there may be no execution barrier, all the other ones are still in place.

One of the things said to be improved are throws. Yet they are to be feared greatly from what I can tell. In most fighting games throws are made to punish overly defensive players. In Fantasy Strike, it punishes movement.

What is to stop someone from standing in front of you, and throwing each time you try to move? A similar thing happens to me in other fighting games. People will stand in front of me and jab each time my character begins to move.

I’ve asked about this (and other problems I’ve had) in fighting game forums and the responses are not helpful:

• Git gud
  • get rekt scrub
  • hahahahahahaha I can’t believe that works on you!
  • SALT! (and/or salt emoji)
  • Posted to scrubquotes!

More to the point, I can’t see this game as being any different. It seems like I’ll have the same problems I had before. I’ll continue to eat mix-ups, and get owned by really good players… constantly.

I can say that with confidence because I tried Rising Thunder. I had all the same problems there too. Even though the game hadn’t been available for long. The moves were easy enough, but nothing else was.

Was this helpful in some way? I hope so. Doesn’t seem like it though. If I read correctly, the game is being designed with eSports in mind. If so, I’m not even the target audience.

2 Likes

Just as a quick thing, Rising Thunder wasn’t really accessible in any meaningful way — it was simplified in the same sense as simplified Chinese writing, where it’s more shortcuts for people who already know how to do something much more complicated. It still played a lot like Street Fighter IV.