What are safejumps and how to do them with grave?

hi

i am new to the fighting game genre, fantasy strike is my first game.
in discord i have been told by people playing me that i seem to have the right instincts, but they say i am way to offensive and taking too many risks, i have to work on my fundamentals, then safejumps came up.
however i ddint quite get the concept and no one could tell me exactrly how to do them with grave, so an explanation would be really helpful :slight_smile:

thanks

I’m not sure, but I belive safe jumps are jumps spaced so well that anti airs can’t beat them.

I might be wrong though.

A safejump is an aerial attack that even when someone tries to use a reversal (like Grave’s super, or Jaina’s uppercut) you can still have enough time to block even after landing (or you avoid the attack because their attack went the wrong direction). This is used typically when someone is getting up from the ground. Here is an example:

You knock down Jaina. Then, you time your jump so that you can do Grave’s air A attack and hit her just as she gets up. However, if you time the jump too late, you will hit her while you are still pretty high in the air. Which allows Jaina to use her uppercut as a reaction and hit you out of the air instead. If you do it too early, you won’t even be able to hit her because you would have landed before she got up. You want to time it so that you hit her and land before her fastest attack can come out. That way she is forced to block the attack. She cannot use any type of reversal.

3 Likes

so i have to jump properly and then time the actual kick animation as late as possible so i am as close to the ground as possible before hitting her?

so its basically if i fear a reversal im gonna do a safe jump on enemy wakeup and if i feel fancy and do not fear a reversal i do a crossup or throw.