Matchup: Jaina vs Geiger

Seems impossible. He can keep up with her projectile spam, and can easily AA her when she jumps in, while she cannot.

Also he once he has full super he can punish fireballs reliably for 2 damage.

His jump in arc avoids her AA completely.

1 Like

He shouldn’t be able to keep up with her projectiles. She can supplement the ground arrow with air C arrows. Also, she can charge her arrows to level 2, allowing them to pass through gears.

Then again I have no experience in the matchup so this is all theory.

I once went up against a geiger who was content to keep up a fireball war till time over. mashing at full speed, the projectiles’ meeting point did not travel towards him as it should if he couldn’t keep up with it.

He totally keeps up with her projectile spam

But he doesn’t have the problem of being unable to aa a jump in

1 Like

I think this is the worst matchup in the game. He can stay back and spam gears to nullify her arrows then when he has super, he gets a free punish if she ever touches the arrow button. The only time she can use arrows when he has super is when she’s in melee range or full screen, which he can just walk forwards against. He basically forces Jaina to become a rushdown character until he uses super and I think we can all agree how sad that is.

On another note, why is it that her reversal hurts her AND is unsafe? It’s also her only good up close anti-air and the best she can get is a 1-1 damage trade. It should really either be unsafe and inflict no self-damage or keep the self-burn and make it safe.

So it isn’t just me!

Man this match up is bad.

Actually this complaint was before the recent nerfs to Geiger. Also, Jaina benefits from the addition of a throw button as knee/arrow is now much more consistent as a punish.